I’m Back For Good- Staying On Track & Moving Forward

I haven’t been keeping track of my workouts for the past two and a half months. I’ve been completely inconsistent and I had no real plan, I just did whatever I felt like doing or could do for that matter. I was injured, unmotivated, bored and unsure of myself and what I was going to do next.

This past weekend I attended the Can-Fit Pro Conference in Toronto, which quite frankly, I wasn’t very excited about because it was pricey and I thought it would feel too much like work since everyone from Goodlife was going to be there. Though the weekend was extremely long, it was all in all worth the trip. There were moments when some of the lectures were a little dry and boring but I saw some amazing speakers and learned more about myself and how to relate to my clients in a more personal matter. Dr. John Berardi (Precision Nutrition) and Donna Krech (motivational speaker) stood out the most and motivated me beyond belief. Both of them touched on different subject matter and it was being able to take everything I learned and piece it together when everything made so much more sense.

John Berardi touched on a very interesting topic “3 Ways to Fix a Broken Diet”, which entailed psychological and physiological response with clients and nutrition, the lecture in itself was brilliant; he put situations into context and it really opened my eyes on how I can handle situations more effectively. It never dawned on me until then that the reasons why my clients weren’t or aren’t progressing is my own fault, not my clients. I’m guilty of giving clients too much too fast and sometimes they do the complete opposite of what I say and sometimes they don’t. I realized that not everyone is starting at the same level and I need to change my strategies in order for each and every client to be successful, I need to slow down and take 1 thing at a time.

Dr. Berardi also brought up the fact that our frustrations can get in the way of our clients successes. For example: when you ask a client to start a food journal and you go over what they’ve eaten for the last week. The client says, “my eating was okay but I was really busy with work, familly and I was traveling a lot so I slipped up a few times”. My usual response would be something as simple as “try preparing food ahead of time or make a healthy choice when you’re out, you’re on track but we still need to make some improvements”, which implies they’re not doing a fantastic job and there is a lot of room for improvement.  Instead of using this approach John Berardi showed a much more effective way of approaching the situation. Instead of telling the client how or what they can change, try and see where their coming from and empathize with their situation. Using the same example as above “the client says, their eating was okay but I was really busy with work and I was traveling a lot so I slipped up a few times” I would respond with “I understand it can be challenging to eat properly and efficiently when you’re busy with work, traveling and most importantly spending time with your family. I know your goals are important to you and sometimes external factors in life will get in the way of your goals. I understand your dilemma and I know you’ll find a way to get your eating on track so we can accomplish your goals in a timely manner”. This shows you not only care about the client but shows you can relate to your client on a personal level. They will want to make a change and will be more likely to make a change without you even making suggestions. Using the word “and” instead of “but” will go a long way.

Alone, Donna Krech made my experience last weekend. This was the last lecture of our trip, it was 5pm on Saturday evening and I was exhausted and debating skipping out on the lecture. Luckily, I didn’t and I made it to one of the most life changing experiences I have encountered. The subject of the day was “How to Double Your Income While Still Finding Time for the Stuff That Matters”, when I signed up for the course it was simply because I’d love to double my income while still having time for life outside of work, just like the title of the course. Little did I know the lecture was much more than that, Donna told the most heartfelt story I have ever heard, it changed my perspective on my own life and how to stay motivated and believe in myself.

Donna shared her story, how she struggled, suffered and failed over and over again until she got to where she is today, an owner of a multimillion dollar life coaching business. When she had her first daughter, she was in a dead end relationship with very little money. Her boyfriend at the time was an addict and when their daughter was born he started to become more and more mentally and physically abusive. She was scared for herself and moreover her daughter; It took her years to be able to leave but one day she took her daughter, packed as much food as she could and grabbed the stroller and walked the Texas dessert until she got to the next town. It was hot, they had run out of food and water and she dehydrated beyond belief. She could see the next town and began to sob, she heard her last coins jingling in her pocket, all she could think about was “I don’t know when I’m going to be able to feed my daughter next”. She went on to say there is no worse feeling to this day than not being able to feed your own child. Everything she’s gone through in her lifetime, this was by the worst; after that day she made a promise to herself, she would be the most driven and successful person she could possibly be, she would value everything she has and make the best of her life that she could for her families sake. This was the most touching story I had ever heard since I could relate 100%. My mother was in the exact same boat when I was baby, except instead of the dessert it was in the snow, I felt like I was in her story when she was sharing it.

She went on told some other grueling stories, which involved bankruptcy, failing, getting sued, losing everything she had and having to start back at square one and do it all over again, you name it and she’s done it. She’s now a successful business owner and happier than she could have ever imagined.

Your life is what you make it, everyone has their own story, there’s nothing you can’t do and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Everyone can make a product of their life experiences because no one lives the same life. Write down your goals and you will make them happen, when shit gets hard you need to push through, there is always light at the end of the tunnel. As much as you think this is sappy bullshit, before you make a judgement, try it and you will be surprised.

When I drove home on Sunday, everything sank in. My thoughts were rumbling and all I wanted to do was write down every little detail on my mind; the goals I wanted to accomplish, when and how I was going to, changing my attitude towards people and situations, ways I could stay motivated to be able to accomplish my goals efficiently, you name it and I was thinking it. I finally got home around 5pm and I think I sat up and wrote until 3am Sunday night until I wouldn’t keep my eyes open anymore. I did this for two consecutive days. I have an entire book of my life, and goals I want to accomplish, I have already accomplished some of the goals I’ve written down and I’m damned proud of myself and looking forward to tackling my upcoming goals.

All in all, I learned a lot about myself and how to better approach certain situations. I now know how to keep myself motivated in order to move forward and be the best me I can possibly be. The weekend paid for itself and I’m looking forward to living myself and making the best of it!

I promised myself I would continue to blog, keep track of my workouts and start to video tape my lifting again. This is the start to that promise.

I re-vamped my program starting on Tuesday August 10th, 2014 for the next 16 weeks, I’m excited and anxious to see what happens. I will try deadlifting in the next few weeks for the first time in about three months and I’ve never been more thrilled to see the outcome of this training cycle.

Monday, August 11th, 2014

Back Squat:

45X8

135X6

185X4

225X3… add sleeves

275X2…add belt

315X1

335X1

355X1

375X1

Down Sets:

315X3X3

1 Legged Leg Press- 120X20X3

Hamstring Curl Machine- 100X12X3

5 burpies, 20 side jumping squats 2X rounds: 9 minutes… I was dying, I definitely need to work on my stamina

This was the first time I’ve squatted over 300lbs in the last 2 months since I’ve been dealing with my lower back and knee pain. I had no pain warming up so I decided to push my squat and work up to a heavy single. It was smooth, but it felt like a truck on my back since I haven’t squatted heavy in a long time; I wasn’t surprised. Honestly, I was just happy I wasn’t in pain for the first time in a long time, next week I will try this for multiple singles if everything feels intact.

Tuesday, August 12th, 2014

Bench Press:

45X8

95X6

135X4

175X3

195X2

210X1

220X1

230X1X5

Down Sets:

190X5X3

Triceps Dips- 8/6/6/5

Wide Grip Upright Row- 75X10X3

Seated Rear Delts- 10X12X3

DB Hammer Curls- 20X12X3

Rower 1000m: 4:15mins

This is the first time I’ve benched my max for multiple singles, I’m excited and happy to push my bench more than I ever have before.

Wednesday, August 13th, 2014

Front Squat:

45X8

135X4

185X2… add sleeves

215X1

235X4X3

Back Extensions- 25X3

Wide Pull-Ups- 5/5/5/4/4/4

Sit-ups- 20X3

Stairs 10 minutes (SS)

I was beat up from squatting heavier on Monday but I made it through the front squats, considering last year I struggled hitting a 225 front squat, today went exceedingly well, minus the stairs… I hate the stairs.

Thursday, August 14th, 2014

Bench Press:

45X8

95X5

135X4

175X3

195X2

210X1

220X2X5

Down Sets:

AMRAP (175lbs) = 10 reps

Barbell Row- 165X10X3

Seated DB OH Press- 35X10X3

EZ Bar Curls- 65X10X3

Triceps Extensions- 37.5X12/10/8

Rower 500m: 1:52mins

Again, another personal best on the bench for multiple doubles, very excited for this lift to finally start moving.

Friday, August 15th, 2014

Front Squats:

45X8

135X4

185X3… add sleeves

225X1

245X1

265X2X3

Chin-ups- 7/6/5/5/5/4/4/4

Back Extensions- 25X4

Walking Lunges (totaled 100 reps)

In the next few weeks if all goes well I’m hoping to hit a 315lbs front squat without a belt, I’m really looking forward to giving it a go. I’ve never front squatted over 245lbs before this training cycle and I’m excited that it’s finally starting to move.

Since I’ve been struggling with my back squat and deadlift ironically my front squat and bench press have been moving better than ever before and I’m liking it!

I’m going to make an effort to start video taping the majority of my main lifts starting next this upcoming week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

