Week 2 Day 2&3- RUM Training & A Reality Check

Today was definitely interesting. I was feeling pretty brutal from lack of sleep and being stiff as a board. Deadlifts felt very slow today so I cut down the sets.

Willie also brought up my weight and where he thinks I should be and he’s right. I simply feel like a fat powerlifter right now, it got to me at first and made me feel pretty shitty but I picked up what he said and am taking action. Since I began powerlifting about 5 years ago I’ve constantly been gaining weight. I was 16 when I started so I wasn’t done going through puberty yet and have put on some muscle since but realistically I have a lot of room to move. When I started lifting I weighed about 160lbs And since then I’ve put on 40lbs… I’ll admit my eating isn’t great, in fact it’s pretty shitty and I know and will work on it. I’m currently hovering around 200lbs and am determined to get down to 180bs before February 2014. I will do whatever it takes; my end goal is too compete at 165lbs by 2015.

Anyways, enough ranting about my struggles… My workouts for the last 2 days consisted of a heavy bench day and a light deadlift day which wasn’t so light.

Heavy Bench
BarX8
95X6
135X3
155X1
175X5(paused)… easy
175X5(paused)… easy
175X5(paused)… good
175X5(paused)… good
175X5(paused)… good

This should have been easier than it was but honestly I can’t say I remember the last time I did more than 2 reps paused so I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised.

Board Press (2 board)- 205X5, 215X5

Floor Press- 45X15, 45X12, 45X10
Chinups- 5,5,5,5,4
Laterals (front & side)- 12X15X3
DB Bent Over Rear Delts- 15X15X3

Light Deads (with green bands)

155X6 (with green bands)
205X4 (with green bands)
295X1 (with green bands)
335X2X6 (with green bands ~415-435 @ the top?)… who really knows, it was hard though.

All sets were pretty rough, way rougher than they should have been.

Check it out @ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_XYQ0nPOZA&feature=youtu.be (sets 4&5)

Stiff Legs- 245X8X3
Rower 3042m in 15 minutes

Leave a Reply

